Telč was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List thanks to its historical centre which represents a very well preserved gothic-reneissance urban entity mirroring the advanced Renaissance culture of the second half of the 16th century. Telč is sometimes called „Moravian Venice“. The castle and a unique group of burgess houses on the square are the main features which attract thousands of tourists every year. The town was most probably founded in the middle of the 13th century. The date is not certain however, although we know for sure that the latest Telč monument – the romanic tower of the Holy Spirit - dates back to the beginning of the 13th century. The town was handed over from the king to the Telč noblemen in 1339. Telč then became a medieval water stronghold protected by ponds, water ditches, fortifications and gates. Telč‘s Renaissance appearance was achieved in the 16th century by Zacharias from Hradec, the most important person in its history. The uniqueness of Telč lies in the fact that the historical centre, enclosed ponds and gates have retained their charming character for almost five hundred years.
The remnants of the Gothic fortification with gates, a great number of gothic and Renaissance burgess houses with archways and Renaissance, Baroque and Classicist facades have been preserved, almost untouched, up until the present day. The archways and facades of the houses were in most cases built according to an integral plan. The town hall with its unique facade copies the style from 1574, visitors are always amazed by its well-preserved Gothic portals.
The dominant feature of the town is a chateau from the 16th century positioned at a place where a Gothic castle had originally been. The castle served, together with two ponds, as a defence structure. The chateau is surrounded by a spectacular Renaissance garden with an English park and Classicist greenhouse. In the garden there is also a gallery of the prominent Czech painter, Jan Zrzavy, an exponent of Czech avant-garde. The interior of the castle is full of unique equipment and precious collections. In the former burgrave there is now a museum with ethnographic collections, movable Betlehem and exhibition about the history of the town.
When visiting Telč one should certainly visit the Church of St. James founded at the same time as the town. The church burnt down in 1386. Its current appearance comes from the 15th century. On the 60 m high tower, two bells have preserved: James and Mary. Another must-see is the Jesuit campus built between 1651 – 1655 with the beautiful cross vault on the ground floor. After the order was abolished it served as barracks. The Jesuit Church of the name of Jesus which was finished in 1679 also belongs to the campus. Its appearance with its rather atypical side facade facing the square has remained unchanged.
There are many cultural events taking place in Telč throughout the whole year, for instance „Holidays in Telč“ with a folklor festival, „Telč Steam Summer“ when you can go for a trip on a historical steam train and towards the end of summer, in September, there are many concerts, exhibitions and theatre perfomances held within „Sait Wenceslas Times“.
Roštejn castle is a preserved Gothic-Renaissance castle, which lies not far from Telč. The ...